Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content
Sign In
General Contact Number: (530) 621-5567

Press Releases

County Mental Health Commission Seeks Two New Members
Mental Health



The El Dorado County Mental Health Commission is currently seeking two new members to fill vacancies on the West Slope of the County. The 16-member commission is advisory to the El Dorado County Board of Supervisors and the County Mental Health Director. Commission members review and evaluate community mental health needs, services, facilities and special problems. The Commission meets at least once per month and may also be called together for special meetings.

Members of the Mental Health Commission are appointed by the Board of Supervisors and serve for a three-year term. The Commission includes ten members from the West Slope of the County, five members from South Lake Tahoe and one member of the Board of Supervisors. 

To be eligible to serve on the Commission, community members must be at least 18 years old, residents of El Dorado County and have received mental health services or have a family member who has received mental health services, and/or be familiar with mental health services. Employees of the El Dorado County Health and Human Services Agency and their spouses, as well as members of the Governing Body of a mental health contracting agency may not serve on the Commission. 

Participation on the Mental Health Commission is voluntary. Members are not compensated for their time, but they may be eligible for reimbursements for actual and necessary expenses connected with their duties.

For questions about the Mental Health Commission please contact Jim Abram, Commission Chairman, at (530) 644-5505. Individuals interested in applying for a position on the Commission may download an application and find more information at the following website:


# # #