Board of Supervisors

Kathy Witherow

(530) 621-5652

The District Three Office of Supervisor Brian K. Veerkamp is seeking applicants for Planning Commissioner. The current District Three Planning Commissioner, Tom Heflin, resigned effective January 15, 2016. Supervisor Veerkamp was quoted in an October 31, 2014 press release in regards to Commissioner Heflin, “Our Planning Commissioner and I will continue to work toward what is good and the right thing to do for El Dorado County, to the best of our ability.” As stated, District Three is moving forward with what is the right thing to do and will seek the very best qualified candidate for Planning Commissioner to represent the district. The Supervisor encourages all residents of District Three, with an interest, to apply for the position.

The Planning Commission is the Board of Supervisors advisor on land use planning. The Commission reviews matters related to planning and development, including specific plans, rezoning, use permits and subdivisions. Guided by the provisions within the County Code, the Commission makes recommendations to the full Board of Supervisors regarding land use proposals.

Those who would like to be considered for this appointment are asked to submit a completed application to the Clerk of the Board of Supervisors Office on or before Friday, January 29, 2016, by 5:00 p.m. The Notice of Vacancy for the District III Planning Commissioner is available at: under “Board of Supervisors Committees and Commissions Notices.”

The County’s formal “Application for Appointment” is available on the County’s website at:

County Ordinance Code Section 2.20.600 provides that, “The County Planning Commission shall consist of five members, one to be selected by each member of the Board of Supervisors. The appointees should reside within the supervisorial district of the supervisor who selects them, shall reside within the County, shall be registered voters of the County, and shall not be County officers at time of their appointment.”

The Supervisor would also like to invite all District Three residents to a town hall meeting on Tuesday, February 2nd , starting at 6:30pm at the Board of Supervisors meeting room located at 330 Fair Lane in Placerville. The topics will include Public Safety and other District Three related matters.